It’s a Giveaway + Get 25% off!

It's a Christmas Giveaway!

It’s beginning to sound a lot like Christmas, and to get into the spirit of things, I’m hosting a giveaway! PLUS I’m giving every new mailing list subscriber 25% off any purchase in my store! What am I giving away? That’s a great question. Each week from now until Santa makes his midnight run, I’m … Continue reading It’s a Giveaway + Get 25% off!

6 awesome space operas books, all free

Screen cap from Planet of the Vampires

Space opera, it’s my favourite subgenre. I love how big the universe is, how spaceships can zip to and fro, with warp drives, hyperdrives and jump gates. But mostly I love the drama of it, how a single person (or a few persons) can save the universe. Inevitably, someone important dies along the way, but … Continue reading 6 awesome space operas books, all free

Triple Chocolate Marshmallow Ice-cream

A scoop of triple chocolate marshmallow ice-cream.

Many people have asked me where they can find the triple chocolate marshmallow ice-cream mentioned in Hero. It’s one of Fink’s favourite deserts and lots of fun to make, just try not to make too much of a mess in the kitchen. Ingredients 2 litres chocolate ice-cream 1/2 cup white chocolate chips 1/2 cup dark … Continue reading Triple Chocolate Marshmallow Ice-cream

Strange and peculiar things: An interview with Amie Irene Winters

A young woman in a red dress crouching in a dark forest.

Amie Irene Winters is the author of Strange Luck, a fantasy series about a girl named Daisy and a secret realm that built on stolen memories. BELINDA: You’ve just released the second book in your Strange Luck series, The Nightmare Birds, tell us a little about the heroine, Daisy. AMIE: Daisy is one strong and cynical chick, … Continue reading Strange and peculiar things: An interview with Amie Irene Winters

Wild, Tough and Cheeky: Carolyn Gilpin on Antiheroines

Lego Wildstyle

Carolyn is the author of Facing Up a story about a girl trying to pick up the pieces of her life after a car crash ruins her life. BELINDA: Tell us about Carly, what makes her an antiheroine? CAROLYN: Carly is an antiheroine because she is cynical, prickly, quick-tempered, stubborn, impatient with her family and pretty … Continue reading Wild, Tough and Cheeky: Carolyn Gilpin on Antiheroines

Worldbuilding and Game Design: an interview with Diana Pinguicha

Lego Shakespeare standing in front of Lego Globe Theatre

Diana Pinguicha is a woman of many talents not least of which include designing games and writing books. BELINDA: Tell us about your book. What’s it about and what kind of audience would it appeal to? DIANA: The Fantasy novel I currently have on submission is called A Trace of Madness (I call it ATOM, … Continue reading Worldbuilding and Game Design: an interview with Diana Pinguicha

Going Her Own Way: LG Surgeson on Antiheroines

The Black River Chronicles by LG Surgeson

LG Surgeson is the author of the fantasy adventure series The Black River Chronicles, including the short story Clara’s Buttons. BELINDA: Tell us about Clara, what makes her an antiheroine? LG: Clara grew up on the dirty streets of Aberddu (pronounced Aber-thee) city. She was orphaned during the Summer of Fire, and left picking over the rubble of destroyed … Continue reading Going Her Own Way: LG Surgeson on Antiheroines

The Worldbuilding Leviathan goes Spanish!

I love how many people have discovered the Worldbuilding Leviathan and I’m always quite chuffed (and just a little bit amazed) whenever someone drops me a line to tell me how useful they’ve found the template. One such person was Juan de la Cruz, who asked me if he could translate it into Spanish. I said ‘of course!’ … Continue reading The Worldbuilding Leviathan goes Spanish!

#B2BCyCon Science Fiction Blog Tour!

Brains to Books Cyber Convention. April 8 to 10 2016.

Welcome to stop 3 on the Brains to Books Cyber Convention SF tour! On this stop, you’ll find book covers, blurbs and a few reading recommendations! Also, don’t forget to check out how you can win 7 YA sci-fi books! Daimones by Massimo Marino For readers who liked The Road, Earth Abide and Childhood’s End. A post-apocalyptic sci-fi … Continue reading #B2BCyCon Science Fiction Blog Tour!