Worldbuilding and Game Design: an interview with Diana Pinguicha

Lego Shakespeare standing in front of Lego Globe Theatre

Diana Pinguicha is a woman of many talents not least of which include designing games and writing books. BELINDA: Tell us about your book. What’s it about and what kind of audience would it appeal to? DIANA: The Fantasy novel I currently have on submission is called A Trace of Madness (I call it ATOM, … Continue reading Worldbuilding and Game Design: an interview with Diana Pinguicha

Going Her Own Way: LG Surgeson on Antiheroines

The Black River Chronicles by LG Surgeson

LG Surgeson is the author of the fantasy adventure series The Black River Chronicles, including the short story Clara’s Buttons. BELINDA: Tell us about Clara, what makes her an antiheroine? LG: Clara grew up on the dirty streets of Aberddu (pronounced Aber-thee) city. She was orphaned during the Summer of Fire, and left picking over the rubble of destroyed … Continue reading Going Her Own Way: LG Surgeson on Antiheroines

The Worldbuilding Leviathan goes Spanish!

I love how many people have discovered the Worldbuilding Leviathan and I’m always quite chuffed (and just a little bit amazed) whenever someone drops me a line to tell me how useful they’ve found the template. One such person was Juan de la Cruz, who asked me if he could translate it into Spanish. I said ‘of course!’ … Continue reading The Worldbuilding Leviathan goes Spanish!

#B2BCyCon Science Fiction Blog Tour!

Brains to Books Cyber Convention. April 8 to 10 2016.

Welcome to stop 3 on the Brains to Books Cyber Convention SF tour! On this stop, you’ll find book covers, blurbs and a few reading recommendations! Also, don’t forget to check out how you can win 7 YA sci-fi books! Daimones by Massimo Marino For readers who liked The Road, Earth Abide and Childhood’s End. A post-apocalyptic sci-fi … Continue reading #B2BCyCon Science Fiction Blog Tour!

On fighting, YA and sci-fi: An interview with Fonda Lee

Fonda Lee knows kung fu, so when she writes a fight scene you know it’s going to be awesome. Which is fortunate, since her debut novel, Zeroboxer, is all about boxing (plus you know, intrigue,  planet-spanning criminal enterprises and a smattering of romance). Find out how you can win a copy of Zeroboxer at the bottom of … Continue reading On fighting, YA and sci-fi: An interview with Fonda Lee

Straying from the norm: Sophia Madison on antiheroines

Sophia Madison is the author of Blue Ruin, a gothic fantasy about a woman named Maura and the vampire who intends to use her to end the world (as we know it). BELINDA: Tell us about Maura, what makes her an antiheroine? SOPHIA: Everything. Maura does things a normal (sane) person wouldn’t do. But she makes … Continue reading Straying from the norm: Sophia Madison on antiheroines

The faintest glimmer of light: Traci Loudin on antiheroines

Lego Catwoman standing on an oversized leaf.

Traci Loudin is the author of The Last of the Ageless, a post-apocalyptic adventure featuring the shapeshifting Nyr. BELINDA: Tell us about Nyr, what makes her an antiheroine? TRACI: Nyr lives in a morally gray, post-apocalyptic world. She can partially shapeshift to gain the claws, fangs, and fur of a tigress, as well as some of … Continue reading The faintest glimmer of light: Traci Loudin on antiheroines

Daydreaming the future: An interview with Jenny Martin

Black and white photo of a vintage toy race car.

Cars, racing and a passel of my favourite movies! I talk with Jenny Martin about what makes YA sci-fi awesome and her book, Tracked.  Don’t forget to check out how you can win a copy of Tracked at the bottom of the interview. BELINDA: What is YA science fiction to you? JENNY: First and foremost, it’s something near … Continue reading Daydreaming the future: An interview with Jenny Martin