The Worldbuilding Leviathan goes Spanish!

I love how many people have discovered the Worldbuilding Leviathan and I’m always quite chuffed (and just a little bit amazed) whenever someone drops me a line to tell me how useful they’ve found the template. One such person was Juan de la Cruz, who asked me if he could translate it into Spanish. I said ‘of course!’ … Continue reading The Worldbuilding Leviathan goes Spanish!

#B2BCyCon Science Fiction Blog Tour!

Brains to Books Cyber Convention. April 8 to 10 2016.

Welcome to stop 3 on the Brains to Books Cyber Convention SF tour! On this stop, you’ll find book covers, blurbs and a few reading recommendations! Also, don’t forget to check out how you can win 7 YA sci-fi books! Daimones by Massimo Marino For readers who liked The Road, Earth Abide and Childhood’s End. A post-apocalyptic sci-fi … Continue reading #B2BCyCon Science Fiction Blog Tour!

On fighting, YA and sci-fi: An interview with Fonda Lee

Fonda Lee knows kung fu, so when she writes a fight scene you know it’s going to be awesome. Which is fortunate, since her debut novel, Zeroboxer, is all about boxing (plus you know, intrigue,  planet-spanning criminal enterprises and a smattering of romance). Find out how you can win a copy of Zeroboxer at the bottom of … Continue reading On fighting, YA and sci-fi: An interview with Fonda Lee

Straying from the norm: Sophia Madison on antiheroines

Sophia Madison is the author of Blue Ruin, a gothic fantasy about a woman named Maura and the vampire who intends to use her to end the world (as we know it). BELINDA: Tell us about Maura, what makes her an antiheroine? SOPHIA: Everything. Maura does things a normal (sane) person wouldn’t do. But she makes … Continue reading Straying from the norm: Sophia Madison on antiheroines

The faintest glimmer of light: Traci Loudin on antiheroines

Lego Catwoman standing on an oversized leaf.

Traci Loudin is the author of The Last of the Ageless, a post-apocalyptic adventure featuring the shapeshifting Nyr. BELINDA: Tell us about Nyr, what makes her an antiheroine? TRACI: Nyr lives in a morally gray, post-apocalyptic world. She can partially shapeshift to gain the claws, fangs, and fur of a tigress, as well as some of … Continue reading The faintest glimmer of light: Traci Loudin on antiheroines

Daydreaming the future: An interview with Jenny Martin

Black and white photo of a vintage toy race car.

Cars, racing and a passel of my favourite movies! I talk with Jenny Martin about what makes YA sci-fi awesome and her book, Tracked.  Don’t forget to check out how you can win a copy of Tracked at the bottom of the interview. BELINDA: What is YA science fiction to you? JENNY: First and foremost, it’s something near … Continue reading Daydreaming the future: An interview with Jenny Martin

On mirrors and YA sci-fi: An interview with N.K. Traver

A computer-hacking teen. The girl who wants to save him. And a rogue mirror reflection that might be the death of them both. That’s a great opening line and it’s on the back of Duplicity, a YA cyber-thriller by N.K. Traver. Find out how you can win a copy at the bottom of the interview. BELINDA: … Continue reading On mirrors and YA sci-fi: An interview with N.K. Traver

Geekdom, YA sci-fi and Africa: An interview with Shallee McArthur

Shallee McArthur is the author of The Unhappening of Genesis Lee, a sci-fi thriller about a girl who remembers everything, until the day she doesn’t. Don’t forget to find out how you can win a copy of The Unhappening of Genesis Lee at the bottom of the interview. BELINDA: What is YA science fiction (sci-fi) to … Continue reading Geekdom, YA sci-fi and Africa: An interview with Shallee McArthur